Organic Consumers Association

LOUISIANA: Tell Lawmakers: Don’t Restrict Alternative Nutrition Advice!

Under Louisiana law, consumers have few choices when it comes to seeking professional advice about nutrition. That’s because only those professionals who are registered dieticians are allowed to hand out that advice.

Lawmakers could change that—but instead, they are proposing a new law that would expand the scope of practice for registered dieticians, while continuing to restrict consumer choice by refusing to allow alternative, equally qualified, professionals to become licensed.

TAKE ACTION: Fill in the form on this page to tell your state lawmakers to oppose HB 579 today! Then call the members of the House Health and Welfare Committee listed below. A hearing for the bill is scheduled for Wednesday, April 13 at 10 a.m.

Under the Dietetics Practice Act of Louisiana, Louisiana is one of only 15 states where only registered dietitians are allowed to provide professional advice about health-related nutrition.

HB 579 proposes to broaden this anti-competitive law which, as it turns out, may not even be legal. According to a 2015 Supreme Court ruling, North Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners v. Federal Trade Commission, expanding an anti-competitive licensure law is a clear violation of the Sherman Antitrust Act.

Lawmakers should take this opportunity to allow all qualified nutrition professionals to have equal licensure and employment opportunity in Louisiana. This would take nothing away from registered dietitians. Instead it would expand competition while at the same time it would provide more choice for consumers.

After all, not all nutritionists are dieticians. And dietitians do not necessarily have training in alternative nutrition practice.

TAKE ACTION: Fill in the form on this page to tell your state lawmakers to oppose HB 579 today! Then call the members of the House Health and Welfare Committee listed below. A hearing for the bill is scheduled for Wednesday, April 13 at 10 a.m.

Louisiana House Health and Welfare Committee:

Rep. Frank Hoffmann (Chair) (R)               318-362-4130    hoffmanf@legis.la.gov
Rep. Thomas P. Willmott (Vice Chair) (R)  504-465-3479    willmott@legis.la.gov
Rep. Lawrence A. "Larry" Bagley (R)         318-925-9588    bagleyl@legis.la.gov
Rep. Kenny R. Cox (D)                              855-844-8583    coxk@legis.la.gov
Rep. Bob Hensgens (R)                             337-893-5035    hensgensb@legis.la.gov
Rep. Dodie Horton (R)                               318-949-2463    hortond@legis.la.gov
Rep. Marcus L. Hunter (D)                         318-362-3440    hunterm@legis.la.gov
Rep. Katrina R. Jackson (D)                      318-362-5123    jacksonk@legis.la.gov
Rep. Mike Johnson (R)                              318-741-2790    johnsonmi@legis.la.gov
Rep. Robert A. Johnson (D)                       318-253-8891    johnsoro@legis.la.gov
Rep. H. Bernard LeBas (D)                        337-363-0152     lebasb@legis.la.gov
Rep. Tanner D. Magee (R)                        985-858-2970    mageet@legis.la.gov
Rep. Dustin Miller (D)                                337-943-2900    millerd@legis.la.gov
Rep. Helena N. Moreno (D)                       504-568-2740    morenoh@legis.la.gov
Rep. J. Rogers Pope (R)                           225-667-3588     poper@legis.la.gov
Rep. Julie Stokes (R)                                504-468-8603    stokesj@legis.la.gov
Rep. Taylor F. Barras (Ex Officio) (R)        337-373-4051    barrast@legis.la.gov
Rep. Walt Leger, III (Ex Officio) (D)           504-556-9970    legerw@legis.la.gov